Latest Project: Vertical Garden

A lot of us have homes we spend some time in. Discussions can be about any topic that may be of interest that you can think of... renovations, purchases, expenses, etc, etc
Greynomad

Latest Project: Vertical Garden

Post by Greynomad »

To complement our new Rose Garden in the front yard, I have been working for over three months on a Vertical Garden to be used as a privacy screen in our ODLA (real estate-speak for OutDoor Living Area).
It measures 2.7m wide and 2.0m high. Designed to fit exactly between two support posts in the ODLA (20mm clearance each end).
The 6"x6" steel reo required 4 coats of Kilrust Black to achieve proper coverage. Then all timber components had to be clear-lacquered before assembly to protect them from weather depredations. Internally, support timbers had to be screwed-and-glued into place, recessed from the outer timber by exactly 11mm - the thickness of the reo - to allow the flush attachment of the mitred dress pieces around the outside on both sides.
The sides are halves of a pallet, sanded to within an inch of its life to avoid splinters when sitting on the (clear lacquered) Merbeau seat.
The whole is mounted on wheels at one end and castors at the other, to allow mobility if required.
The hardest part was finding terra cotta pots of the exact size to fit into the 6x6 mesh. Plants are mostly cuttings from our and friends' gardens. Only two were sourced from the Big Green Shed. :)
Vertical Garden.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards & God bless,
Ray
--
"Insufficient data for a meaningful answer."
Isaac Asimov, "The Last Question"

"I refuse to drink water, because of the disgusting things fish do in it"
W.C.Fields
Noggins

Re: Latest Project: Vertical Garden

Post by Noggins »

Looks good , yer a bit creative ayyy :lol: