The rebuilding of a 1969 Franklin Mini - AKA "The Pumpkin"

Please feel free to describe your motorhome, campervan or caravan. (make, model, length etc)
Grandad

The rebuilding of a 1969 Franklin Mini - AKA "The Pumpkin"

Post by Grandad »

I guess it's time for me to pull my finger out and detail the rebuild I've been doing for the past several years as I've now been asked on three separate occasions. Ok guys. I get the hint. Here goes.

This all started after my wife decided to move out and the future was looking rather bleak. After any property settlement, hanging on to my house seemed impossible. There would not be enough equity for much else than living in a caravan. So, trying to turn lemons into lemonade I reasoned that this was a good time to travel the country as a grey nomad.
So, I set out to rebuild a caravan I had purchased some 15 years earlier as an extra bedroom and deck it out for long term free camping. And just keep travelling until I can't.

I'd read enough about lithium to know the possibilities but there was so much conflicting info that attempting to DIY scared me. Then, our old friend Terry announced the start of T1 Lithium. Good news. Although there wasn't enough equity to buy a cheaper property, there was more than enough to fund the lithium setup, and purchase a suitable tow vehicle so long as I didn't want something late model.

That's ok. I don't like late model, electric everything with computers in every corner anyway. Give me something older. An XG or XY Falcon ute or panel van looked good to me, although my mechanic suggests I should avoid the XG. I would have preferred an XF but from past experience, they suck fuel like its going out of fashion (which it actually is now) when towing anything. And LPG isn't a good option like it used to be.